Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame to Induct Four New Members in September

Four outstanding new members will be inducted into the Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame, housed at the Alf Engen Ski Museum, on Thursday, September 25, 2014.  Being honored this year are John Aalberg, Competitor, Wilby Durham, Ski Sport Innovator, Spencer F. Eccles, Ski Sport Innovator, and Harold Seeholzer, Ski Pioneer. 


 John Aalberg (b. 1960) is a Norwegian-born cross-country skier.  He was an NCAA champion at the University of Utah in 1984 and 1985 in the15-kilometer event and was a member of the U.S. Olympic Team in the 1992 Winter Olympics in Albertville, France and the 1994 Winter Olympics in Lillehammer, Norway.  Aarlberg also oversaw preparations for the Nordic events at the 2002 Salt Lake Winter Olympics and the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics.                                                                      

Wilby Durham (1913-2000) had a long career at the Deseret News, ultimately serving as assistance general manager.  In 1948, Durham partnered with local ski schools to create the Deseret News Ski School, which provided free skiing instruction to tens of thousands of people, mainly children.  Durham was also instrumental in promoting ski tourism in Utah and helped lay the foundation for the Salt Lake City area to host the 2002 Winter Olympic Games.

Spencer F. Eccles (b. 1934) is a businessman and philanthropist who is deeply involved in Utah's skiing identity.  Eccles was a NCAA All-American at the University of Utah and competed with the U.S. Ski Team in the 1950s and 1960s.  He contributed his business acumen to help organize the 2002 Salt Lake Winter Olympics and his philanthropic activities have benefited many organizations, including the Alf Engen Ski Museum, Utah Olympic Park, the University of Utah, the Utah Athletic Foundation, and many more.

Harold Seeholzer (1902-1968) was a Utah ski area pioneer.  He was the prime mover behind the creation of Beaver Mountain near Logan, Utah, which Harold and his wife, Luella, gradually developed, beginning in 1945.  Beaver Mountain was officially dedicated in 1952 and it remains the oldest ski area in the United States that has been continuously owned by the same family.


07/07/2014 9:00 pm